ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

182 doesn't start first time, but will second time

Clio
Hi all,

My Clio 182 has just developed a fault in the past few weeks of not always starting first thing in the morning after having been parked up over night. It will splutter briefly into life and then stall, but is guaranteed to start up fine on the second attempt.

Having done some reading, it seems to suggest that the TDC sensor may be a culprit. Is this right? Are there any other easy checks to make?

Thanks!

Clio 172
I'm no expert but a failed camshaft sensor can be responsible for a 'stumbling' start which sounds like what you're experiencing. If the PCM doesn't see a camshaft signal, as you say it won't have any feedback as to where the TDC on the compression stroke, so compensates by injecting fuel at every TDC event while cranking until the engine is running and spinning fast enough for it to use the crankshaft sensor, from then on it will run as normal.

If you've any facility to plug into the OBDII port and read the fault codes I'd expect to see one relating to the camshaft sensor, but to properly diagnose the fault you would have to get the sensor output scoped by a decent garage or mechanic to prove it's at fault. I've had all sorts of trouble with Renault wiring (my Vivaro van is basically a Trafic) where I've nearly condemned a sensor but have then found the sensor wiring, although looking fine on the outside, is corroded enough it can't carry any meaningful current!

dan's cast offs.