ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Do lowering your car affect.....

The aerodynamics of the car?. As in lower the drag?. Always wanted this one answered So everyone what do you think?.

Chun.

Corsa 1.3 CDTI

No expert, far from it but I would of though if you lowered you car it would create a vacum under it do to air moving faster over the top and less air underneath, bit like a plane wing causing the car to have more grip at high speed.

Just a theory though. Probably totally wrong but worth a shot..

BMW 320d Sport

Im no expert either but Ive been doing a bit of thinking and reading around this subject.

There seem to be two main things going on here; firstly having the car closer to the ground reduces the air flow below the car and instead channels it around and over. For the normal street car/street racer this is the dominant force and common sense suggests that the less air you have going under the car, the less likely it is to get light at high speed. However you need to keep airflow going high over the rear rather than following the line of the tailgate, cos this causes lift at the back because of the swirling/vortex effect that lowers pressure over the rear end. Thats what huge rear wings are for.