ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Engine rebuild - advice on parts and process

GrahamS

ClioSport Club Member
  335d
Evening chaps

Going to be rebuilding the engine in my cup during a week in May as it's using oil. Picked up a block today from @Mini182 which is going to be the base for it.
I've never built an engine before I'm confident I can do it no problems, just need the right guidance and hoping you can all help.

Parts wise this is what I've got down so far. Let me know if I've missed anything major, the little bits like sump washers I've got laying around. My dephaser is almost new too. Despite the large list I want to keep the parts costs down so recommendations for suppliers would really help out.

Piston rings (can someone recommend a good supplier)
Thrust washers (more on this later)
Big end bearing
Crank bearings
Top end gasket set (head gasket, valve stem seals, exhaust gasket, inlet gaskets)
Head bolts
Bottom end gasket set (sump gasket, crank seals etc)
Cambelt kit
Pulley bolt
Water pump
Cam caps
Key wayed crank pulley
Flywheel bolts
ARP rod bolts
Assembly lube
Plastigauge
197 valve springs

I understand it's all pretty simple but measuring the crank float is crucial to fitting the correct thrust washer. Does anyone have any pics of this process or what tools I'll need to do this. From the crankonwards plastigauge and some feeler gauges will be OK for the piston rings.

Head is going to be kept standard but will check all the valves etc while it's out and swap to the 438's in my 182.

TIA for the help.

Graham

Daniel

ClioSport Moderator
  Whichever has fuel
FLOL! You crack me up.