ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Newbie Track Car Advice

2003 172 Cup
Hello to all..... I am a newbie to this forum, to Clios and to track cars really!

I have always loved cars but essentially quick road cars and have owned a CTR, Focus ST, Z4 Coupe in recent years but have essentially no mechanical knowledge or no how!

I have only ever done one track day in the CTR and absolutely loved it, and now have a job that involves a commute into The City and can't really justify having a decent/valuable car sat in the driveway for me to drive a couple of times at weekends so have decided the best way to feed my car hunger is to get something cheap and fun and track it, at the same time doing some work on it and learning as I go!

I have been reading up for a while and have decided a 182 is the way to go so am currently on the look out for something in good condition around £2/£2.5k. Im not quite sure what I'm after but suppose something with a decent amount of track prep would be good, although ideally I would still use for a very short drive to the station most days.

Any advice/guidance!? I have been reading up as much as possible but given the huge amount of knowledge on here thought I may as well set out my stall and ask the question!

Thanks in advance!

Sunglasses_Ron

ClioSport Admin
Hello to all..... I am a newbie to this forum, to Clios and to track cars really!

I have always loved cars but essentially quick road cars and have owned a CTR, Focus ST, Z4 Coupe in recent years but have essentially no mechanical knowledge or no how!