ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Rear shocks - is this dead?

Norbury90

ClioSport Club Member
  Titanium Silver 182
I have zero mechanical knowledge. Literally zero. Here's a pic.

20170615_201048.jpg

Is this buggered? The other one doesn't look like this. Are they expensive?

Norbury90

ClioSport Club Member
  Titanium Silver 182
Nice one, cheers guys. Are they specific to cup pack/non cup pack? Need new driveshafts as well so I will get bent over in preparation. Damn thing.

imprezaworks

ClioSport Club Member
  Mk5 Golf GTI :)
Which driveshaft?

J&r is where I got mine, £50 delivered, passanger side.

Get cup rear shocks

Jekyll

ClioSport Club Member
All rear shocks will be the same fitment, just cup ones are slightly stiffer I believe. Down to personal preference. Definantly change both at the same time, even if the other side seems ok.

Also, I have had a J&R driveshaft fitted for a while now and no issues whatsoever. Mine was passenger side.

Norbury90

ClioSport Club Member
  Titanium Silver 182
Thanks guys, appreciate it. Will speak to the garage and see what happens. The joys of Clio ownership eh? Good job I like the thing.

Darren S

ClioSport Club Member
Rear shocks are very easy to replace yourself - is the one that's leaking banging away as you drive along?

OEM driveshafts are a whole different level of expensive. I bought a set direct from Renault probably about 18 months ago now. They had a cash-back offer for returning the old shafts within 7 days. I think I got about £80-£90 back simply for handing back my knackered units.

Jekyll

ClioSport Club Member