ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Looking at a few Ph1 172's

BMW E90 & PH2 172
Right today "22nd" I'm going to look at a few Ph1 172 and fingers crossed bringing one home, I was just wounding what to look out for and any top tips on buying one, I'm not a novice in buying cars but atm i do not know much about Clio's to know what look out for, So any advice ?

Nimbus 197, Ph1 172
Check the cambelt has been done. If it hasn't, or no proof but the seller says it has, its a good place to barter as its a £450+ job. Also listen for a diesel-like rattle when warm. It'll be the dephaser pulley, ehich is another £160, but can be changed with the cambelt.

Apart from that, just the usual faults. Rear wheel bearings, knocks from suspension, leaking rear shocks, standard exhausts rot quickly. Dont expect too much unless its a minter and you'll be happy, they arn't the toughest of cars and most are at least 11 years old.

imprezaworks

ClioSport Club Member
  Mk5 Golf GTI :)
Lol ^^^ I can sense another ph1 v ph2 battle coming on. In all seriousness just a good check of the car, make sure it drives okay with no nasty knocks. Like said above check for cambelt replacement as its an expensive job. If they are advertised on the likes of Autotrader, Pistonheads etc stick a link up on here to see if anyone knows the car. Or better still stick a wanted thread up if you havent done so far. Good luck with the search though.

Ricardos

ClioSport Club Member
  LY 200 EDC