ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

My Monaco Blue Phase 2 172 Project

Integra Type R
While i'm on the computer i may as well stick up a project log for my 172.

I've had many Vauxhalls and recently parted with my much loved self built XE Corsa.

So bought an E36 325 M3 Rep after selling the XE Corsa, but i just wasnt feeling the love for it.

Stuck it up for sale and a mate phoned me saying he knew a boy who was BMW daft and had bought a 172 but didnt like it if i was interested, so we met up i loved the Clio and he loved the BMW, keys and documents were exchanged and we parted ways.

The 172 is in need of some love, but i worked as a mechanic at the local Renault dealership for 3 years so i dont see that being an issue :cool:

Parked it on the drive immediatly as i wasnt happy with 3 things -

Lower dogbone mount bushes were fucked.
Auxiliry belt had worn down from 5 ribs to 3 and didnt look healthy at all.
Speedo isnt working.

Got on the blower to my mate who's still working at Renault, he priced me up a genuine timing belt kit & genuine auxiliry belt kit, they were ordered immediatly.

Ordered some Powerflew bushes for the lower dogbone mount.

So here it is how i bought it.

786f3833.jpg

d9b64b85.jpg

Wee parcel -

ad99b570.jpg

And fitted -

eaf5ee11.jpg

Also fitted my Alpine headunit, i also still have the 'old faithful' Alpine i bought when i passed my test in 06, shame its not iPod compatible or it'd still be my primary unit.

3af50d67.jpg

Couple of my mates were off on Friday past and waiting on my belts coming in and my mate being able to borrow the engine locking tools for the weekend we had a cleaning session at my bit.

IMG_2571.jpg

IMG_2572.jpg