ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Newbie detailing/cleaning questions

Clio 172 Cup
So as above I'm new to this

background
ive had my car for 11 years now its a 172 cup and have looked after it well, infact it's often commented on how new it looks because its been garaged a lot and only run in good weather.

intentions
i want to give the car a good clean and keep it looking good as I want to use it a bit more often now so

i need to learn about cleaning it I got some hot wheels cleaner and will clean the wheels during maintenance when there off the car.

but how do I clean my car paint work I'm not the anal type but I want to do a good job, what shampoo to use what sponges to use what wax to use and WTF is clay ??????? Is it just wax ???? How do I apply it ????

Also where to get this stuff from as you wouldn't buy alloy wheels from halfords so I'm guessing the best cleaning stuff isn't for sale their either.

Clio 172 Cup
Ok so had a bit of a read and have ordered a wash MIT

now onto shampoo
but what's the difference between the two types below listed in the stick bit below ?

A couple of recommendations:

Dodo Juice Born to Be Mild
Auto Finesse Lather
Britemax Cleanmax
Gtechniq G-wash

Some gloss enhancing ones:

Dodo juice Sour Power
Chemical guys Glossworkz shampoo
Chemical Guys Maxi Suds II

Golf GT & A4 Avant
Ok so had a bit of a read and have ordered a wash MIT

now onto shampoo
but what's the difference between the two types below listed in the stick bit below ?

A couple of recommendations:

Dodo Juice Born to Be Mild
Auto Finesse Lather
Britemax Cleanmax
Gtechniq G-wash

Some gloss enhancing ones:

Dodo juice Sour Power
Chemical guys Glossworkz shampoo