ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Ableton/GarageBand/making music

Rolls Royce
Got my MacBook pro a few weeks ago and want to start playing around making music etc mainly electronic and techno housemusic.

I have ableton and traktor install but you have to bear in mind I am a complete beginner! The closest I've come to making music in the past was the music game on ps1 lol! Anyone got any hints or tips to point me in the right direction? Been watching a few vids on YouTube only had a little play on ableton but seems really complicated, where do peopleget samples from and stuff? Can you cut samples out of existing songs? For example could itake a beat and cut it and use it?

Also do I need synths etc to plug in or can ijust use ableton as it is standalone kind of thing. Sorry for been a complete noob on this guys, eventually I'm wanting to setup a little studio in my spare room kinda thing!

Christopher

ClioSport Club Member
  Z4M
There's a few on here that use Macs for production. I wouldn't know where to start with that side of things though mate.

Traktor is used for DJing, not making music - so I wouldn't bother with that just yet. ;)