ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Track Car Options Clio 197/200 vs CTR

M2 / Golf GTI
Soooo, I have been outside of the ClioSport loop for a little while but I have promised myself to get into track days this year. I have little to no experience (other than some pathetic XBOX games) so wanting to ease myself in!

Anyway, I have a reasonable daily driver which chugs away the 40 minute commute, I'm torn between a 197/200 or FN2 Type R for a track car.

My gut feeling is to go with the 200, given I have had a 182 (10 years ago!) I would like another RS. They can be had pretty reasonably now with 200's coming in around the 5k mark, 197's for 2-3k. I'll be honest I don't want to go much more because my lack of talent might just shine through... then again I feel maybe if I spend a little more I might save some in the long run with reliability...

Does anyone else run a 200 as a track car? Insurance is less on the 200 than the FN2 but not sure about reliability... I'll be honest the 200 seems like it would be more fun.

Thoughts?

Speedy300

ClioSport Club Member
  M140i
I’ve had a Clio 182 and EP3 Type R (234bhp) as track day cars in the last few years. Wish I got a Clio 200 instead of the Civic. Civic’s require bigger budgets to get them to a decent (but faster) level.

I doubt the FN2 would have been better than the EP3 on track. Therefore out of your two options I would go for a Clio 200.

the_baron_von_richthofen

ClioSport Club Member
  2003 Clio 172 Cup
From experience an FN2 is a great daily but I dont think it would be the most focused for track work.

Having never driven a 197 or 200 I'd say buy the cheaper car and have some change for track days/tuition.