ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Waxing / sealant

I'm new to this so please don't laugh if this is a daft Q...

What should be applied first - wax or sealant?

I've been using NXT wax on the car for the past year or so but am going shopping for new stuff tomorrow morning. I'm looking at the Chemical Guys stuff - XXX Hardcore wax and Factory Sealant. I presumed that you'd put the sealant over the top of the wax to "seal" it, but I'm sure I read somewhere (can't remember where) that it's supposed to be the other way around, i.e. sealant then wax.

Could anyone confirm the correct order for applying?

Ta
Ally

106 GTi
Sealant first then wax.

Ideally you should leave 12-24 hours between each to allow maximum durabillity.

Ah cheers Rich. I think it was in one of the guides over on DW that I read it, thought it best to check though.

Another Q: I've not waxed the Clio since the end of March. I presume I'd be best to clay the car (to remove any traces of NXT) before starting off with the sealant, then finishing it with wax?

(although I've got some scratches to get filled/sanded/polished before I do anything...)

106 GTi
Clays are much of a muchness really - all made by the same company so I have read. As long as you stick to the consumer ones and dont end up with one of the bodyshop agressive overspray ones, you can't go wrong. I go with whatever I can get hold of, the Megs Quik Clay works, or the Serious Performance own brand stuff is a good bet.

Sounds like its well worth claying and then polishing before you seal and wax.

Thanks again Rich.