ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

185/55/15 to ???

MK3 Sport Tourer TCE
I'm going to need a new set of tyres soon.

I currently have 185/55 on, can my standard Renault alloys take any other width tyre?

Would people recommend I keep the same profile/width or try something different [if applicable]?

I'm a noob, so answers in straightforward english please :)

BMW M135i
I usually go to brittania in Nuneaton, last F1s I had fitted were £42 each fitted iirc. There good for f**k all other than cheap tyres though.

Meg on pistonheads £6995
you're fine then!

my 15-17 swap was 1.8% diference

LESS THAN 4% is OK otherwise speedo/gearing combo goes way out

BMW M135i
Oh I see what you mean now, I read it as though you were getting a 4% difference between 185/55s and 195/50s.

MK3 Sport Tourer TCE
Is there any chance that the tyres will rub if i change from 185 to 195?

Nope, not on the standard wheels.

Yes they will if you drive hard/track days etc at the back

Its not to much though just a skimming of the rear arches ideal check the rear screws thing which hold the liners in aren't damaging the tyres.

BMW M135i
Oh right, though mine rubbed because of the 7j wheels rather than the 195 profile. Learn something every day.

If 195/50/15 are cheaper than 185/55/15 and do a better job why arent they original manufacturer fitment. Seems a bit odd.

Particularly on cost terms.

If 195/50/15 are cheaper than 185/55/15 and do a better job why arent they original manufacturer fitment. Seems a bit odd.

Particularly on cost terms.

Renault will pay the same price regardless.
Also 195/50 catch on the rear arches plus the 172 were supposed to use the wider tyres.