ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Best email account?

Hi all,

I am having probs with my hotmail account as I don't think it supports push on my iphone. S I was wonderin if there are ay better account out there i.e Gmail etc??

Thnaks

Tesla MP3 2021
I have been using Gmail for a couple of years now. Never any issues, no spam at all and works great with the iPhone.

Sam

North East
ClioSport Area Rep
I'd say gmail. Hotmail has daft filters on so some mail never gets through! Hotmail has none and is far easier to intergrate with phones and pop3!

Ok thanks guys.

Does Gmail do the following...If I were to open an email on my PC and then delete it, then open my iphone and go into my emails would the email still be there as it hasn't been deleted on my iphone only my PC as I hate this about hotmail?

E87 118d M Sport
yes charlieboy. if i delete an email in gmail on my iphone, then load up gmail on the pc, the deleted email is gone.

E87 118d M Sport
Tom is saying "No, gmail doesn't do what hotmail does as gmail is IMAP based"

I am saying " Yes, gmail does what you want it too"

DMS

A thirsty 172
Gmail can be configured to use POP3 or IMAP. If you want to leave copies of messages on one device while deleting them from the other, you need to use POP3. But in your case you want the mail on the devices to be "synchronised", so you need to configure the phone to use IMAP. If you let the phone set up the email account for you it'll default to IMAP.
Gmail now has push support for iPhones. Plenty of guides on the internet if you want true push email (if you use an IMAP account it will only sync periodically - i.e; not true push email).