ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

D3000 Macro?

Im still new to the photography world, I'm getting some good pics, I feel my standard 18-55 is limiting me, Its probably mostly me with lack of skill,

But beyond that i need to take close up pictures of rings and jewellery, Also with the hobby side of it and wanting to take some macro pics im now looking for a macro lens.

What is recommended, But also cheap?

I wouldn't be to bothered about auto focus if it bought the price down.

Thanks for the reply Revels,

I still havent had time to read into fixed lenses and what not, what advantages does this give you?

And would i still be able to focus on close ups, i.e. rings, not to fussed about macro quality.

I cant focus on things about 5cm away from the camera atm, and thats no good to me.

Cupra
ukskew on here got some screw on close up filters that helped him get some great shots. It might be worth looking into as a cheap alternative to a dedicated macro lens.

Ive got the cheap Hong Kong close up filters, 2, 4, 8 and 10.

I cannot get the hang of them, Ive tried them all and different combinations (strongest closest to lens)

And manual focus whatever close up filter and which ever distance i try is still s**t really, may have another try later...

But i think i just need a fixed lens? capable of doing decent close ups?

Morning chaps...

So... After some thought id like a prime lens... I've seen some pictures taken by a fixed focal and they are impressive...

Then again, I wouldn't mind having the flexibility of a 55-200mm? but all that would achieve over my 18-55 is more zoom obviously and not focus effect?