ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

DA and Holograms

This is doing my titties in royaly!
Especially as I own BG.

Right I've spent the last 2 years or so learning a lot about detailing. Like a lot, spent over £400+ on gear and products, so I'm not a total noob, more of a weekend warrior with above average knowledge, id like to think that anyway.

But Holograms are my nemesis! I *think* I may know what I'm doing wrong by watching junkmans videos on it. But can't seem to google anyrhing to do with Holograms and DAs.

My cars almost swirl free (never 100% for me on black, more like 99%) so I no longer need to use orange hex with M105.

Using a regular DA, White pad with either M205 or more recently Menzerna 3in1 (love it)

Steps are:

- Prep paint.
- Prime pad (3 pea spots)
- DA on car, speed 2/3 slowly work polish into work area and pad.
- now I speed up to 5 and work in a cross hatch pattern (across all the way then up and down all the way through the area)
- I do this 2/3 times
- slow down back to 3, and carry on for 1 more pass (crosshatch)
- IPA wipe down excess.

But I'm still riddled with twatting Holograms!

After watching junkmans videos I think I'm going wrong by 2 reasons;

1: I applied ALOT of pressure in the speed 5 passes.
&
2: he mentions to keep on doing passes until the polish is more of an oily shiny residue on the car (worked in fully) then IPA wipe down. I've only been doing 3 or so passes so unsure whether it was oily and ready to take off.

Apart from the above 2 mistakes anything else anyone wants to add to my steps?

I've always thoroughly cleaned the pad after each use so I'm pretty sure it's not clogged up.