ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Help with low light shots...!

mas

MK7 GTD & Mini GP
Not indoors.... outdoors.

Im a Photographer for an Estate Agency, and ive always struggled with low natural light external shots. Below is an example of a current clients house, you can see how it is well covered with greenery and casts shadows whilst reducing light.

I tweak my images slightly in photoshop, brightening shadows etc... but they dont seem to be up there in terms of quality!!!

Im using a 400D and Sigma 10-20mm for the majority of my photographs, internally I use an external flash.

Any help appreciated on how to improve them!!

Sam

ivy_frnt.jpg

Cupra
That looks like a fairly well balanced exposure TBH! Sky is not blown out and the shadows are not too dark.

The best thing you can do is to shoot in RAW as it gives you more room for adjusting the exposures in specific areas if you need to.

I wouldn't say there's anything wrong with the exposure in that shot. The main criticism I would have is the sharpness. Do you use a tripod at all? If not, I would thoroughly recommend one. And what aperture do you usually shoot at?

As above, if you shoot in RAW, you will have greater flexibility in post editing, as well as being able to use light 'fill in' which will help lighten darker areas without affecting brighter regions of the image.

mas

MK7 GTD & Mini GP
I didnt use a tripod in that shot, straight off the camera it isnt blurry, I think its the compression.

What resolution/size do you guys recommend I save them off as (the files need to be a reasonable size)

Sam