ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Indoor Shooting...

mas

MK7 GTD & Mini GP
I need a bit of help, I am a photographer for an estate agency.

I use a 400D with a siggy 10-20mm lens. External flash and bounce it off the ceiling/walls.

When its sunny, im struggling with getting well exposed images as the sun glares in through the windows.... I try to get as much light internally as possible with lights/lamps etc...

Is there anything I can do to reduce the glare? I use the lowest F point as I can, high (ish) iso (400 sometimes 800) and a quick shutter but the glare sometimes ruins most shots. Obviously where possible I will shoot not looking directly at windows but in some rooms there is no other option.

Any help would be appreciated

Thanks

Sam

Can you not get some of those, get ready for a technical term.. light bouncer things

Stick them by windows that are behind you so the flash bounces back? or stick them outside so you dont get the glare coming in. Obviously that wont work for the 1st floor! lol..

Rally bus
Have a read of some of the stuff on Strobist about balancing ambient/flash light, dialing in some exposure compensation should help matters.

Can you use the external flash remotely, that might help too, direct it at a different angle to what you are shooting.

Or failing that carry a curtain around with you to block the sunlight and alter the shot angle so you can't see it in the shot.

mas

MK7 GTD & Mini GP
I will gets some example shots up for you guys to see...

Here is my idea of a nicely exposed image, shooting away from windows is not too bad, even on a sunny day.... like below;

yrk1_large.jpg