ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Indoor sports setup

Ian

Focus TDCi
I've been skating for a few years now, on and off. I enjoy it, but to be honest I'll never be winning any competitions, far from it infact! Half the reason I go now is to mess around taking photos.

I'm going to Rampworx tomorrow, which is a converted warehouse in Aintree, near Liverpool. It's just as you'd expect really, a bit dim and dusty.

My setup is rather impressive, it consists of a Fuji S5700, a 2Gb memory card and a bag. Ok so not so impressive, but just about capable.

Here is an image I took last year:

DSCF1159.gif

I quite like it, but obviously it could be a lot better. There appears to be a lot of dust on the lens for a start. Please could people recommend the best settings for this environment?

I'm thinking an ISO of around 400, with a shutter priority mode of a couple of 100ths with panning and an altered white balance (as most of the photos come out looking orange).. will that work?

Cheers

my mate does photography like this for magazines...he uses quite alot of gear, remote flashes are his favourite

Ian

Focus TDCi
my mate does photography like this for magazines...he uses quite alot of gear, remote flashes are his favourite

Hmm figured as much, seems like a hard environment to get a decent photo from. Used the inbuilt flash on that photo and it's just killed the background.

Reckon if I slow down the shutter speed I can get a bit of a blur going on in the background anyway, so it won't matter too much. Kinda a case of make the best of what I've got.

If I'm battered and bruised on Sunday, you'll know why now though lol.

She'd get it!