ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

New member, FF 182 hunting

RB 182 Cup,E46 M3 CS
Hi all

Just joined the forum as I am currently looking for a Clio 182 'FF'. A little background of my car history, I started out with a succession of fords ending up in a Mondeo ST220 which I loved but got tired of the limitations of front wheel drive. Sold that for an E82 1 series 123d (hence the username) which was brilliant in most ways but I could never get over the fact that it had a transit van sound track and the (almost lag free but still laggy) power delivery. So I sold that and bought my first 'dream car', a manual E46 M3 CS in Interlagos Blue which I've been driving as a daily for two years.

I tried to buy a daily to avoid using the M3 last year but parking problems living in a flat and insurance in the dodgy end of Manchester meant that it wasn't possible. Now I'm in a house in an area where insurance is lower and I have a garage and space for three or four cars on the drive it makes sense to take the plunge.

I'm still not 100% sure the Clio is the car for me but what I'm after is something relatively depreciation proof, relatively practical, relatively comfortable, relatively cheap to run, relatively quick and fun to drive.. relatively. I'm looking to spend £3000 and in this price range it seems to be the star buy, I had wanted a Focus ST170 but finding a nice one now is tough and they aren't that quick or I think special enough. Despite having never driven or been in one I think the Clio is special and I can't wait to get in one.