ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Newbie help... can't actually take photos, lol

CrippsCorner

ClioSport Club Member
  Astra VXR
Yeah so, I got my camera out today (Nikon D3200) just to take a few snaps for an eBay advert. It's quite expensive so wanted some photos better than iPhone quality! I'm a complete newbie btw, and have only used it a few times since I was bought it for a present.

Basically I set the item up on my dining room table, there's a big window to make sure light was coming through. I wanted to get some good depth of field shots. However try as I might, the majority of the time, my camera refused to take the photos... I tried auto, portrait, aperture priority and manual but all it did was zoom in looking like it's ready for around half a second then zoom back out and wouldn't actually take. As I said there was plenty of light (but I also tried with and without flash) and the battery was fine. Obviously I did press the button fully down, as I know a half press is for focusing or whatever.

I'm guessing (hoping) this is simply a newbie user error as I aimed at my garden and it took the shot no problem... what am I doing wrong!? Had to go back to the iPhone unfortunately which took every shot first time.

TheEvilGiraffe

South East - Essex
ClioSport Area Rep
My bet is that you were too close for the minimum focusing distance.

Check the lens - it'll be written on there what that distance is.

Make sure you're over that.

Better off standing the other side of the room and zooming in sometimes...