ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Newbie looking into DSLR's

Hey,

So I've been contemplating getting a DSLR for the past 6 months but only until now had the funds to do so, though I'm completely undecided as to which model would be better suited for me.

A few months back I managed to nab a Canon Powershot SX210IS for dirt cheap from the Canon outlet, and it's a nice compact camera, but it's obviously not exactly what I was looking for.

I've little to no experience of taking proper photos, but it's something I've wanted to do and after seeing my friends at the meet yesterday I've been looking again and have the itch to get one.

Now, the problem I've still got is that I'm not sure which would be the best to go for, I'm not looking to spend anymore than 600D money, but at the same time I'm wondering if it's worth getting a 600D due to the lack of experience. Obviously if this becomes a serious thing then initially investing in a 600D would be hugely beneficial over, say a 1100D, but I'm still unsure as to whether this is the right move or not.

I've also been seriously looking at the 550D, as far as I can tell the only major difference is the screen? With the 550D or the 600D I'd of course get the kit with the IS lens over any of the others, I saw Currys have a deal on this weekend for the 1100D with two lenses, but neither are IS lenses and I'm sure I've read that the 75-300mm lens is one of the worst they've ever produced?