ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Racing at Silverstone

Turbos.
My dad and i were at Silverstone at the weekend for Britcar. It was interesting using the smaller International circuit, which i have no past experience of, and there is a good mix of corners with two hairpins, a very fast double apexed left and most of the best bits from the full circuit.

Our mate in a Supercharged Honda'd Exige had been thrown out of the competition (for having a Honda engine) so we were looking to maximise our points to have a shot at the overall trophy. We got worried because another Honda'd Exige turned up with a sequential to boot. Fortunately no supercharger though!

Some pit pics (we were using Red Bulls garages):

P1050174.jpg

P1050167.jpg

P1050171.jpg

Unfortunatley we ran into a problem during the test day before the race, with the alternator failing. Despite being a Motorsport item it struggled to cope with our higher revving engine and we had to get one ferried overnight to fit for the race.

P1050192.jpg

Our new radiator was also too efficient and the splitter fell off... duct tape to the rescue!

P1050191.jpg

Our mate in his S2 Exige faired worse though! He binned the car after Bridge neccessating a combination of tape and then a Waitrose fibreglass repair kit to put back the part of clam that he left behind...

P1050165.jpg

P1050166.jpg

P1050176.jpg

P1050178.jpg

This knock managed to upset more without us knowing, with the roof dramatically flying off at 100mph, not bad! Amazingly, the roof was found unscathed on the grass and put back on without trouble.

P1050190.jpg

P1050205.jpg