ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Wanting to get in to photography.

Typhoon

Gangsta
ClioSport Moderator
Hi guys - pretty much a complete novice with photography but would like to "start" learning it.

Would need to buy a SLR camera and have been recommended the budget Nikon L810.

Any one have experience with one of these? Pros/Cons?

Cheers.

Niall

ClioSport Club Member
I suppose the biggest con of that camera is that it’s not an SLR, it’s a bridge camera, meaning that it’s the bridge between a compact and a DSLR, so the lens isn’t removable. I’d look at say a lower end Nikon/Canon such as the Nikon D3200 or the Canon 600D.

Ay Ay Ron

ClioSport Club Member
I suppose it all depends on your budget.

The 600D mentioned above would be an idea first camera. Start with a kit lens (18-55) and then if you get in to it, buy some more suited lenses to your preferred photography.

Djw John

Scotland - South
ClioSport Area Rep
As a rank beginner too I'd heartily recommend the second hand route. I have a d40, 18-70 lens, 35mm lens and filter and a camera bag for the grand total of about £340. Much better than buying it all brand new and I'm getting an idea of what I want to get/upgrade.

riz

ClioSport Club Member
  Jaguar XFR
Agree with djw, 3-400£ gets you an excellent second hand dslr.

banther

ClioSport Club Member
Canon 1100D?

My missus was in the same boat as you about 6 months ago. She loves it and has really developed with it now.

I dont know much about them but I think its a fairly easy camera to progress with as you get IS & Auto - Focussing stuff when you start but as you progress can stop flying on 'auto-pilot' and take over controlling it yourself.