ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Windows Server 2003

dk

911 GTS Cab
whats the point really?

its a server os, winxp and vista are perfect for the home.

Jesus, yeah it is pretty pricey. TBH I doubt I'd even try it anyway, I just reformatted this morning to Vista and realised i still hate it, so I just wanted to try something different to XP. I can't handle linux as I'm a newb :p Is there anything else :(

Server 2003 is pretty much the same as XP in a desktop role.. so you wouldn't notice that much if you turned the themeing on, cd writing on etc..

Hmmm, so how much more stable is it to XP, or is it just the fact that a lot of the unneeded services are disabled/completely removed?

I think it's all down to drivers - 2003 Drivers are very good.
On the other hand, if you have good drivers in XP, it's just as solid.

Hardware for hardware, there shouldn't be much in it.. things only become unstable when you install lots of rubbish - which you will on a desktop. Servers don't tend to have much crap installed.. it's generally all very well tested obviously.

What about win2k, lol...

Out of interest, is there much software that doesnt support win2k today?

I know MSN stopped supporting it since 7.0~ but is there much else?

Windows 2000 Pro was very good, but, there's absolutly no reason to go back to using it now.. XP is equally as good with SP2.

And, just use Vista.. seriously. :p

Or sell up and get a Mac.

Mac wont run most the stuff I use out of the box though will it?