ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Ubuntu - a good Linux client?

Darren S

ClioSport Club Member
I've downloaded the v7.04 desktop client with the aim of trying it out on my other PC at home. I'm very new to Linux, so was wondering if Ubuntu was the best option?

Any feedback or suggestions, would be great!

Cheers,
D.

Its pretty good if your new to it. Got a copy of it here myself to take home but keep forgetting.

Punto/Clio GTT
kdf told me in PM that linux is piss poor and that secretly he uses windows vista ultimate on all his machines at work and at home.

Not a Clio
I don't think anyone could categorically say XYZ is the best distro, but Ubuntu is very good.

I've been running Ubuntu since 2005, currently using 7.10 Tribe 5 Testing and it's looking good. Some good improvements over 7.04.

Megane DCi 147bhp/350nwm
kdf told me in PM that linux is piss poor and that secretly he uses windows vista ultimate on all his machines at work and at home.

:p

tbf ubuntu is pretty damn good, especially as its free :)

it can't be compared to windows :<

RIP Dan
I use it on my pc, some things dont work....ie my printer and it doesnt display video in its video player.

If you are lazy like me then it isnt for you. I cannot be bothered to go on forums all day asking and searching to get this and that working.

I mainly use the pc its on as a file server.

Not a Clio
^ don't let that put you off, some things will "just work". Others may need a small amount of reading to get to work. But once you have it working that's it, not like you'll have to keep"fiddling".

RIP Dan
Not right im afraid VJ.

Video didnt work.

Then it did when i downloaded some updates.