ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

2012 Macbook Air Extremely Loud Fan Issue

CBR1000RR Fireblade
As above, I started playing Civilisation this morning and the Macbook fan kicked in. Understandable, but it got louder and louder until it sounded like a jet engine on a plane taking off.

Is this normal?

If so, why the hell is it so loud?

I was expecting playing a game from the SSD to be near seamless and near silently, however this does not appear to be the case.

Is this just how it is or is there a fix for this?

My old MBP used to go mental with the fans.

I could even hear it whirring in my bag after putting it away.

N0ddie

ClioSport Club Member
  Tesla Model 3
Depends where you were using it. I find that if I sit with it on the couch or my knee in a certain way the fans kick in. This is down to blocking the airflow.

Try it sitting on a desk to see if that makes a difference.

jenic

ClioSport Club Member
2012 MBA has improved fan iirc, mine has never come on loud enough to hear it.

I don't game but I do use VM's and watch HD streams on it no issues. How hot is it getting?

And SSD doesn't mean no heat, it means the storage media doesn't spin, but modern HDDs are near silent anyway.

CBR1000RR Fireblade
It felt warm and I was sat on the couch with it on my knee.

It was really loud. I read somewhere about the CPU getting warm and the fan RPM increasing the hotter the CPU got. I was only playing the game on the standard settings too.