ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

chipp’in a 182

id avoid a "one fits all chip" get the car remapped on a RR or get a piggyback ecu fitted and have that set up on a RR, basic chips are w**k.

Shhh

So whats best then.? and how much, remember im not that technical in cars so therefore explain it like im a women..

Alias

basically a superchip or similar will be set up to be "plug and play" in other words an approximation. a piggyback and rolling road set up or remap on a rolling road is tuned for your car. in theory all models should be the same ie a 182 should be identical to the next but due to mass production this isnt always the case so to get the best performance increase and know the car isnt running too rich or too lean with your off the shelf superchip its better to have it tuned specifically for your car. the benefit being you can always have a piggyback or remap adjusted if and when you make other mods to get the best out of them.

With a normally-aspirated engine like that of the 182 (i.e. non turbo/supercharger), the scope for "re-mapping" the settings for fuelling are limited. The reason that forced induction cars (i.e. turbos) see relatively large gains is that there is scope for larger adjustments to fuelling and of course peak boost pressure.

NA cars therefore dont gain much from chips - perhaps a little driveability, but relatively little power. Custom mapping helps iron out problems and match modifications like cams etc. (sometimes also induction, if the car runs lean with an induction kit).