ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

D3000 or Digital Camera?

UR R26R.5, VW Golf R
Firstly, I realise there are countless threads kicking about, so apologies as I'm trying to be specific to my needs. I'm an absolute newbie when it comes to photography, other than taking thousands of shots of my cars (as you'll know) and family with either a mobile phone camera or my trusty Sony Cybershot 7.2MP camera which I got for Christmas many years ago.

Couple of examples taken at the weekend :

Bella-1.jpg

DSC04081.jpg

Obviously the files have been reduced in size and therefore quality, but you get the idea.

I'm looking for an upgrade to the Sony Cybershot, and have noticed that the Nikon D3000 is available at Argos for only £299. As the RRP is £450, that's 1/3rd off. I'm assuming from the price market and also from looking at Revels DSLR guide that this is an entry level camera, but what I'm wondering is will I be pleased with this camera and is it suitable for a relative newcomer to the photography world? It seems like a low MP rating (10.2MP) compared to a lot of digital camera's on the market at the moment. Like I say, I take countless photographs, but I know nothing about lenses, differences between DSLR, bridge and digital, shutter speeds or any of the jargon that goes with photography.

Nikon D3000 Argos link : http://www.argos.co.uk/static/Produ...ameras|25417975.htm#pdpFullProductInformation

Any help would be much appreciated, but I'm pretty much set on the D3000 as £300 is my absolute top line and as it's going on our Argos card that limits me from going elsewhere for a different bargain.