ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Eufy 2k video doorbell

davo172

ClioSport Club Member
  TCR'd 172
Doorbell has just packed up and been looking at these to get next.
Anyone got one the battery not wired version?
If so what's the verdict?
Also will it do colour night vision if near porch light?

Honda. Tesla Someday
Hi!

I spent a long time deciding which doorbell to buy. My first choice was the Eufy Battery Doorbell as it seemed to offer the world! The main thing I liked was the local storage, no reliance on the cloud etc.

So, I bought it.

When trying to set it up though, I couldn’t get the app to create a new account for me. I’m a tech freak so this just didnt seem right at all.

After some investigation, it turns out that the app does in fact rely on connecting to Eufy services (which I guess is OK), however their whole network was down. Couldnt create a user account, couldnt do anything for a full 36 hours! I googled it and found that their servers have been offline often, and people who bought in to the Eufy “Security” system (it uses the same app as the doorbell), when the servers are offline you can’t disarm or arm your alarm, and you can‘t view your doorbell recordings etc. People were going crazy as they literally could not disarm their business alarms or their house alarms so they could leave the house! Apparently you don’t get doorbell notifications either when servers are down.

I felt somewhat betrayed as I genuinely thought that the doorbell wouldn’t rely on the cloud as much as it did.