ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Headlight Restoration

Clio 1.2 16v
Been meaning to have a crack at my headlights for a while now, they weren't the worst looking in the world but certainly needed a bit of attention.

I saw someone using a 3M kit that looked pretty nifty and was only £20 off eBay so thought I would give it a shot.

It's worth pointing out that I have never tried anything like this before so I didn't really know what results I would get. Also the kit recommended using a drill with a speed range of around 1200-1600 RPM. The only 2 drills I have are a cordless drill at 550 RPM and a mains drill at 2800 RPM, so like a man I went for the faster of the 2.

Lets have a look at the kit then shall we:

img6397b.jpg

Pretty neatly packed, I was expecting something much bigger. It didn't come with a banana for those wondering, that would just be weird.

Lets open it up:

img6405gj.jpg

Everything inside feels good quality and the velcro is pretty strong.

Now lets see the state of the headlights:

img6401t.jpg

img6403mn.jpg

img6404b.jpg

Lets get started.

Looks pretty cool with green tape I think:

img6406f.jpg

There is plenty of masking tape, I would recommend doing 2 layers of it if you can. Because of the speed of my drill it was quite hard to control it and I did slip off once and catch some of the paint work on the bumper (some G3 has fixed this pretty much though).

During the sanding stage:

img6410tx.jpg

I'll skip right ahead to the finished stage, i'm sure you don't need to see all the inbetween sanding stages.

Much better:

img6411p.jpg

img6412f.jpg

After a much needed bath:

img6418c.jpg

img6420g.jpg

Side by side before and after: