ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Insurance policy problem CS advice needed

Ok I would like to see what people opinions are of my current situation, I am not going to name the broker or underwriter as I am still giving them the opportunity to sort it out. Nevertheless I would still like some opinions on where I stand:

Called the broker and got quote for insurance on the 182. I am a full time student and as part of my course I spend 3 days per week working for a community mental health team, my placement provider requires me to show I have business usage on my policy as I visit numerous sites in the area and also have colleagues and clients in my car.

This was explicitly explained to the broker and I requested 4,000 miles for business and 8,000 for personal. I have checked the policy documents and the policy includes use for commuting, but excludes business usage. I spoke the broker who have informed me that as I am not being paid by the placement provider I am covered to carry colleagues, clients, travel from office to office and make home visits under the commuting and personal/pleasure element of my policy.

I asked the broker to provide this in writing, they have since sent a blank letter with no details on it just my name and 'insert details here xxxxxxxx' I presume where the explanation should be.

Firstly I am not convinced that I will be covered for business use/work won't accept the policy as is (policy due to start tomorrow!)
I am pretty annoyed that I had specifically asked for business usage and the quote/policy I received did not include this and I was not made clear at the time.