ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Linux newbie!

Golf Mk6 Oil Burner
Ok, I've barely ever used linux (although I did setup a mail server about 7 years back with a version of Suse).

I've got a cheapy aspire netbook with Linpus running (based on Fedora 8 I believe). I have the advanced mode enabled so I can get behind XFCE. It's just purely for messing around on and learning more about Linux.

1. Can I learn the basics with the version on the netbook or would I be better trying another distribution ?

2. What are the main differences with the different Linux distributions ?

3. As a complete novice with Linux were is the best place to start ? A decent book maybe ?

I know there are a few Linux experts on here so any help appreciated!!

KDF

Audi TT Stronic
Ok, I've barely ever used linux (although I did setup a mail server about 7 years back with a version of Suse).

I've got a cheapy aspire netbook with Linpus running (based on Fedora 8 I believe). I have the advanced mode enabled so I can get behind XFCE. It's just purely for messing around on and learning more about Linux.

1. Can I learn the basics with the version on the netbook or would I be better trying another distribution ?

2. What are the main differences with the different Linux distributions ?

3. As a complete novice with Linux were is the best place to start ? A decent book maybe ?

I know there are a few Linux experts on here so any help appreciated!!

1. Sure, its still linux. (see next question though)