ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Nutanix + VMware

Rav4
Hi,

Has anyone used Nutanix in their employment or projects?

I went to a VMug conference the other day, previously thinking it was another hype, but the product looks awesome.

Would be great to find our real life usage if possible.

Obviously this solution would not be great for everyone.

Thanks,

G.

172 Cup & K20 Ph1
Not used it myself, I'm a Virt/Cloud architect so my first question would be... what are you trying to do?

Rav4
Hi,

Thank you very much for your reply.

Not trying to do anything at the moment ;) just want to know if any of you have used it or been involved with a project and wanted to find out more regarding the product, i'm quite partial towards the scale approach for infrastructure design.....

Virt/Cloud architect, awesome :D hope that is fine :)

I'm going to have a demo of it tomorrow, see what it is really like and how quick it is to implement. Their offering is supposed to be amazing for VDI (not the biggest fan of VDI myself though, due to licensing costs) and additionally they are now offering the units with Intel SSD's instead of Fusion cards, which should save a substantial amount of money on the units.

Thanks,

G.

172 Cup & K20 Ph1
Oh yeah, FusionIO is seriously awesome, but only if you have deep pockets! Makes SSD's look like floppy drives!

Have you looked at OpenStack (www.openstack.org)? Comprises of an entire horizontally scaleable IaaS stack and it's free of charge, just uses commodity hardware rather than an appliance, plus it works with VMware ;-)

Rav4
Yes, they sure are, iOPS on those are ridiculous, VMWare View toy :)