ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Ph 1 172 Grab Handle Refurbishment Guide

You will have to bear with me on this as i have never written one of these before.

This is what i started with

SP_A0109.jpg

SP_A0110.jpg

SP_A0106.jpg

As you can see, a set of very tarnished and for use of a better word nasty looking grab handles.

Once they were removed from the car, they were soaked in hot soapy water, and left in the bucket over night.

I then used a Kitchen type scour pad to remove the layer of rubber type lacquer.

RH-827.10.jpg

Once completed , i noticed a few bits that i was unable to remove.

I then stepped up to some wet and dry, 1000 Grade.

This removed all the rubber type lacquer and took it back to the plastic in some places.

These tasks were all carried out over the bucket.

I was happy at this stage, i then set about giving them a final wash in hot soapy water, then dried them off.

Once dry i sprayed the first coat of paint, this was done using Vauxhall Star Silver, this was after speaking to Middo.

The best way to spray and you will have to excuse my crude description, was to dust on the first few layers.

Light fine coats, these ensured there was a good base in which to build on.

I left about 1 hour between coats , sometimes longer, just depended how long they took to dry.

I gradually built up the layers making sure the coats were even and there were no runs etc.

When i was happy with the silver, i then set about spraying on the lacquer.

Again very fine coats, dusting it on to ensure good coverage and no runs as they are a nightmare to get rid of as they have to be sanded back once dry.