ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Redline when raggin it ?

Shed.
Well, when you rag the car is it ok, safe, and should you, red line the car in every gear before shifting.

Ive started going from 6k and then a change, to letting it redline and then shift. Nothing i should worry about is there ? it only bounces about 3times before the shift so i shouldnt blow my head gasket ?

im a noob. dont laugh ! ;)

FF cupped Arctic 182
Well, when you rag the car is it ok, safe, and should you, red line the car in every gear before shifting.

Ive started going from 6k and then a change, to letting it redline and then shift. Nothing i should worry about is there ? it only bounces about 3times before the shift so i shouldnt blow my head gasket ?

im a noob. dont laugh ! ;)

:nono: Reading that made me cringe.....LOL

Remind me NEVER to buy a car from you! ;)

172 Cup & Clio dci Van
bouncing enough times especially in a mk1 is bound to blow something i'd recommend shifting just b4 the red line as you have to go into the red to bounce in ur mk1? right?

basicly dont redline it all the time as you will kill your car fast

P

Paul Common 666

If your driving hard then you wanna change gear just before the limiter. Bouncing off it is losing you time!
The limiter is there so you dont do damage to the engine by over reving etc. Whenever your driving any car hard your wearing it out quicker. But as long as your not driving around on limiter everywhere its fine. Its good to stretch there legs every so often! ;)

Munday

ClioSport Club Member
  RB 182, 1275GT, C220
If you hit the limiter or the red line you have gone past the optimum time to change gear.

DrR

ClioSport Club Member
  VW Golf GTD