ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Ropy 172 Budget Track Toy

330i
Hello all! I'm new to Clio's but by no means cars and modifying. I thought that I'd start a build thread for reference purposes for myself and also it's nice to be part of a community.

So basically a couple of months ago I approached a good friend of mine with the proposition of going dutch on a budget track car. He's just started a family and i have another car (very slow project, BMW E30) and am also undertaking a very large extension on my house, so anything other than maintaining the budget aspect would be fruitless and only wind up our wives! A budget was set of £1500 and the concept of both of us chucking £100 in an account on a monthly basis to pay for track days, fuel, wearing parts and if anything was left over mods!

I spent a lot of time looking into different vehicles and decided to go with a Mini Cooper S R53.... Unfortunately everything in budget was either shagged or owned by a total chimp that i simply wouldn't have bought a car off! So that left me dredging the memory bank, to a conversation held with a good friend of mine who is now banned from this site (think deep fried potatoes!) and the shortlist was shortened even more to a Clio 1*2 or a Meg 225. Wanted to keep clear of forced induction and there's more components to go wrong so we were left with the cheeky little french hatch. I have to say they're a total change from the renault I had as my third car R5 GTX, hilarious in a straight line but not in the bends.