ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Spluttering at idle only

Does anyone know what might be up? It drives completely fine, no warning lights or anything but at idle it sounds like crap. Also, I gave my tailpipes a reet good clean the other day, after a day of driving they're black again and I noticed black splatter over my rear bumper. It could just be stuff picked up off the wet roads and I'm being over cautious.

15519186146_82e344bf25_b.jpg

ADS_V6

ClioSport Club Member
  172 cup clio v6 st
does it smell like burning oil,im no mechanic lol but ive had this on a saxo it was running rich i was told,i would get it checked somewhere though

It's just dirt. I've noticed this in my engine bay too. It's probably not related and I'm being overly-cautious but there are two dark patches at the bottom of the inlets and also a bit of oil coming from the VVT solenoid (I think that's what it's called).

15567244032_afc135b32e_h.jpg

R

RyanWXM

100% Coil Pack mate had same issue with mine. Thought it was the plugs but they were fine. If you take out one of the Ht leads and check the rubbers on them they should be nice and soft and dry. Mine had a bit of moister and the rubber had turned hard the the leads arching to the engine which is causing the sputtering. As soon as you rev is does it disappear and what revs is it idling on ?? @jesus

Thanks @welshname Rhys. It's only just had a new coil pack so I hope it's not that. I'll check for moisture or damage though and go from there.

It does disappear when I rev or drive, but it's not a proper misfire type splutter like usual and the video does exaggerate the sound.

R

RyanWXM