ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Stripping weight from 172 track car

172, BMW 650i & X5
Hi all, new owner of a 200 Clio 172 in silver. This was bought for track only purposes and is the successor to my N/A MR2.
I have stripped most of the weight out with all the usuals and replaced all but windscreen with 1mm polycarbonate too. I'll be leaving the dash in but not much else. I'm new to the Clio's and have a couple of Q's for you:

1) Under the wiper scuttle panel appears to be the heater fan unit, is this correct and can it be removed and how?
2) I currently have an airbag and serv light lit. Is this a known fault and does it activate 'limp home mode'?
3) I want to remove the Renault steering wheel which has an airbag, is this simply remove and install new boss & wheel, or is there resistor issues etc?

Again, I'm new to Clio world so assume I know nothing. Any help greatly appreciated and thankyou in advance...

330i. E30 Touring.
1. Yep, under the scuttle on the drivers side is the heater motor. Can be removed if you don't need it.
2. Nope, airbag and service light affect nothing apart from the dash.
3. Yep, nice and simple. Resistors might even turn the light off.

Dan

Yozza'd Blue Bus
You have quite a bit of tar on the floor of the car in the boot etc that adds up when you remove it all.

172, BMW 650i & X5
Budgie, best replies I could have hoped for. Thankyou.

I'm all ears for any other non costly weight saving ideas you may have. Building the wee car with my 13 year old to get him on the tools and put a smile on his face!!!

172, BMW 650i & X5