ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

The allure of full frame...

Does a full frame DSLR need to be on every photographers bucket list?

I've been shooting since 2006 and at one point owned a Canon 40D, 10-22, 17-55 2.8 IS, 70-200 f4 L, 430ex flash etc! But sold it all for what I paid as prices rocketed and my usage declined.
Been using a Panasonic GF3 and 20mm 1.7 prime since. Very happily, capable little thing with a fast prime.

Then I found myself on ukaskews smug mug account looking at lovely shallow DoF car show images that could have only come from a FF sensor. The EXIF revealed a 5D. Since then I've discovered Canon now make the 6D. Paired with a Sigma 35 f1.4 it could be quite the monster, a giant version of my CSC setup.

Who else has tried to downsize and ended up coming back?

Last edited:

mikeh

ClioSport Club Member
  182 Trophy
I have been around the block with cameras, a 400D, 550D before deciding I didn't need an SLR and buying a Sony NEX-3 and a Sigma 30mm f/2.8.

I gave in and bought a cheap 650D and 17-55 before getting the usual full frame urge - it just so happened I could afford a 6d with 24-105 at the time.

It wasn't as game changing as I thought it might be, but I've never regretted it!

Niall

ClioSport Club Member
I made the jump to FF last year and has been the best thing I’ve done. The quality of the images straight from the camera is much better, along with the actual look to the images. I use a 7D quite often (not mine) and the files from that (using the same lens) are quite flat compared to my 5D Mark II.

Full frame isn’t the be all and end all, just it’s great if it suits you and your style of shooting, which for me it does.