ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Total noob, advice needed.

Black 182 FF
Hi, I'm pretty new to all this and I've searched around on here doing a bit of reading (and still reading) but I'm wanting to know if someone can answer me a few questions or give advice.

Basically I have a black 182 with plenty of swirl marks and light scratches and I've also got some front lights that are in need of attention. I dont expect miracles, but barring a quick wash and using some SRP regularly the paint needs a bit attention. I'm planning on getting some better shampoo for the car (currently use carplan - recomendations please) and also claying it too.

I've got hold of a cheapo rotary polisher (which people on here say is quite heavy, although I need some pads) and I want to start and practise on some old body panels before I eventually move onto my car as I realise it's something I've got to be very careful with. I've watched quite a few people doing this, but never had the experience myself so I need plenty of practice - one thing I want to know about is technique, as in how many times would you go over one area and in what sort of motion?

The main thing I want to know is - what are peoples recommendations for compound, polish and finishing products? And am I right in thinking the paint on the 182 when I eventually get into it is quite thin?

Cheers for any help guys.

Black Sheep
I was like you. If you look at my threads in the detailing section most of the questions will be covered and answered. My car was also black so that should help a bit to.

A slow blue one.