ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Clio MK3 1.5 dCi 106 - Need advice on clutch, flywheel & concentric slave cylinder change

Ray_

ClioSport Club Member
  Clio MK3 dCi 106
Hi all,

I have a mk3 1.5 dCi Clio that's wanting a clutch doing. It's just gone over 100k miles and the clutch pedal is high, stiff and it's getting a bit more difficult to put into first gear. Dealer also said it needed doing at a health check.

I've never done a clutch job before, and it looks really rough on this version of the car in particular. I would much prefer to do it myself, but I just don't think I'm well enough equipped at this point in time. I love the current clutch in the car and if I take it to a garage, I'm worried they'll put something shite in it and not change all the seals. I'm also worried they'd get a single-mass flywheel in instead of a dual-mass. From what I've read, people usually regret that conversion. So, does anyone have any recommendations of good clutch garages in the East Kent or the whole of Kent that might install the items I'd specify, or at least good quality items? Or just any advice in general around how to go about this job?

Cheers

Mcaff

ClioSport Club Member
Not the worst job, but if you’ve not got the tools I wouldn’t bother, you can pick up a valeo clutch and flywheel from the likes of autodoc fairly inexpensively for them. Worst job about it is getting the clutch bled back up again. While the flywheel is off consider changing the bolts they are about £5 each from Renault, and change rear main seal as they like to leak think they are about £40/50 from memory.