ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

172 and 5 turbo owner new to forum

Clio 172, r5 turbo
Hi all I'm new to the clio club but have always been a renault fan owning my 5 turbo for 5 years now. A friend of mine had a 172 a few years ago and I was alway impressed by the way they perform and handle so recently decided to buy one as a car in-between tinkering with the 5 and using it to comute to work when the trucks not needed which is.quite alot recently. Absolutely love it. Your going to be thinking ahh here we go his one of them but I had a play with a m3 not long ago down some twizzlies and short straights and I was pretty much pushing him and causing him to twitch on bends and he genuinely wasn't getting away on the straights...I was absolutely tearing it though using the gears as much as poss keeping it above 5k. But even so, me and the passenger of my car were pretty exited over it and suprised. After doing this and having a few more weeks of driving it in the sun I've decided next month I'm going to book it in to engine dynamics for there low boost turbo kit and clutch. But before I do this I need to improve the ride as it's very crashy and bouncy at times. It has standard shocks and apx springs so not really too suprised. Read alot about the apex springs and unfortanatly I'll have to agree with people who say there crashy and bang alot as mine do. And lately there's been a new knock when going.over bumps it sounds like somethings loose but after taking it all apart and checking.its all tight it still does it. The rear exhaust mount had perished so I thought maybe that was banging about and causing.the engine to rock but after changing it no luck. although less engine.mo