ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Anyone painted their car themselfs?

Ph1 T
Alright, ive been thinking for a while now about having my ph1 sprayed as i think silver is boring and what something abit lairy its come down to either:

Orange
RB
White

Now over the next year the car is literally going to just be used on track as hoping to get another daily (fabia VRS) so dont fancy paying 1k+ for a paint job when i can spend that money on better things for the car..

so been thinking about giving it a go myself in the week and half i have off over Xmas. Now im not really experienced in painting done plenty of sets of wheels and other little bits and bobs but nothing like this. any tips from anyone whos done it before?

Im not too fussed about a 100% perfect job as my brakes and bits of tyre will no doubt ruin my paintwork after the first few trackdays so just after something good.. Id rather pay someone to do it if can get it cheap enough if not ill be having a crack myself..

So to anyone whos done this before any advice would be great.

Thanks Dan

Daniel

ClioSport Moderator
  Whichever has fuel
Painting is the easy part, its getting it prep'd properly that will determine how good the finish is.

My painters favorite saying is ''If you can piss, you can paint''

Ph1 T
LOL at that saying...

dont get me wrong im no numpty and am quite handy at a fair few things i agree i thought the prep would be the hardest..

i imagine plenty of sanding so that everythings perfectly smooth and filler if needed (allthough shouldnt be) before hand

if you plan to do it over xmas and have no way of heating the area you are planning to do it then don't bother and wait til the summer

Daniel