ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Best DSLR for £500

Track 172cup
Looking to get a DSLR in the next few weeks, considered buying second hand and keeping to about £350 but would rather buy new so i know what i'm buying so upped my budget to around £500

I'm a complete beginner but i really want to start getting into photography.

Initially looked at the D3000 but i think after a while i would wish i had just spent that bit more.

So my options that i can see atm are:

D500 + 18-55mm VR Lens - £480
http://www.jessops.com/online.store/products/76137/show.html

Canon 450D + 18-55mm f/3.5/5.6 IS Lens - £500
http://www.jessops.com/online.store/products/73523/show.html

Canon 1000D + 18-55mm & Tamron 70-300mm f4-5.6 Di Lens - £500
http://www.jessops.com/online.store/products/77514/show.html

for me the D5000 seems the best to me but it would be great to get some other opinions from people that know more about what their talking about. Would be good to hear from any D5000 users aswell

theres also an option to buy the Tamron 70-300mm Lens for £120 with the first 2 but i might just get used to the camera first before venturing out to try different lens

any other suggestions that i've not mentioned would be more than welcome aswell

feel free to pic ***** aswell lol :rasp:

First things first, go into Jessops or a local camera shop and try the Nikon/Canon.

How it feels is the most important thing. I don't like the way Canons handle/menus etc but many people are the opposite and don't like the Nikon. Hold it. Take a few shots. Play with the settings.