ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Cambelt Issue

Clio 197
I hope someone here can help, in a bit of a sticky situation and really need some advice. I own an '07 Clio 197 that's done 58,000 miles. Please excuse any terminology that's not correct, I'm no expert in car mechanics.

Yesterday morning I was driving along and I've accidentally driven over a few small potholes, which were covered in water which meant I was unable to see them. About 3-4 seconds later the cars lost power, the power-steerings gone, I could smell petrol and the dashboard reads 'check injection'. There were no real loud noises and no 'clunk' when the car came to a stop, and nothing major when I tried to turn it back on.

I wasn't able to get the car to my normal garage (they fitted my cam belt recently) as they were unavailable so the AA have towed it to a nearby garage that I have no experience with. The AA guy thought that maybe the car had thought it was in an accident because of the potholes and had stopped fuel going to the engine, therefore causing the loss of power and maybe explaining the smell. My mum (who'd come to help me push the car to safety) seems to remember him saying that the auxiliary belt or cam belt were still intact (she doesn't remember which). The car was then towed to the nearby garage.