ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Detailing questions and advice

Golf GT & A4 Avant
I'm fairly new to all this detailing and only done the 182 twice now. I wash the car once a week, and when detailing I wash, dry, clay with Megs quick clay, polish then wax with Collinite.

How often should I polish and re-wax? I've read that you should clay regularly to clean of debris, is this true? I thought you would have to polish and wax after to seal it? Can a wash it weekly then apply another coat of wax to keep it protected?

I'm really struggling with the clay. The car is almost 3yrs old and the first time I clayed it hardly enything came off onto the clay. I went to do the boot and rear bumper the other night as it was covered in tiny tar spots and other little spots. The clay would not touch them, I tried more and less lubricant, new bits of clay, left them to cool and go hard, and got it hot so it was soft and not once did it remove any of it. What am I doing wrong. In the end I got out the Carplan Tar Remover resin, although it took a bit longer it removed everything.

The polish I use is made by Kent Chemicals, a huge tin of blue paste that I got off the valeter from my dads Renault garage. It brings the car up lovely but is quite hard to rub off when its dried. I've never used anything different and was thinking of trying the Auto Glym SRP/ EGP. Whats the difference with the two, do I need to get them both or just one and which one.

Sorry for the essay :dapprove:

106 GTi
I clay once or twice a year depends on where you park. Using it means the need to start again and polish and seal after.