ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Difference between no amp and with amp

Clio 1.2 16V Dynamique 02
I'm wanting to upgrade the stock HU in my clio and get the custom fit comp Pioneer speakers. I've already heard people saying amp the speakers instead of purely using the HU but how much difference will it really make? I am new to all this and only know the very basics of fitting an amp so would rather not do it. Is it worth all the hassle of spending more on buying/fitting an amp?

I'm only gonna be using the stereo on the way to work and am not looking for it to be really loud or anything, just better sound quality is what I'm after and being able to play CDs/Ipod. Also would prefer to keep the stalk controls working is possible but is not essential. (I know which adaptors to get for that)

Whats the difference in this case?

Thanks

Sam

Fiat Bravo Active TJet
I will probably be corrected - but it's to do with the power to the speakers, as you don't get as much from the HU as you would from the amp.

So you will basically get a better sound from amping them as oposed to straight from the HU.

1.2 Clio
Amping speakers makes quite a big differnece. It depends greatly on the efficieny of the speaker of course.
But typically amping components, increases fidelity due to the HU not having to do all the work (less chance of clipping), along with being louder due to providing 30-150WRMS, unlike most HU's. As said above really.^

Black Gold Trophy