ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

New ICE

Im new to the ICE business & I want a little more noise from my Clio. Ive got an Alpine CDM-7872RB HU & ive replaced the speakers all round with Sony Xplod ones. Im thinking of getting an amp & a sub but dont know the first thing about them. Ive got a bit of coin to spend but not a great amount.

Any sort of help would be seriously wicked as Im pretty crap at these things.

Cheers

kind of deends what music u listen to.

Ported subs ( i.e. not sealed in a box) are better for drum n bass, producing a much lower bass tone.

Sealed ones poduce more of a punchy affect, idea for listening to speed garage, rock, trance etc.

The bigger the sub, the more bass, providing u got a decent amp. Personally i wouldnt go bigger than 12"

Laguna

What u looking for, Sound quality or big bass, you need to think about the size of the sub your after which is the first thing. Are you looking for something with nice tight/fast puchy bass (8" or 10" sub) or longer extended bass (12"+ sub). Its all down to your own taste really mate, on the type of music you listen too, Nice tight smallish subs are ideal for fast dance tunes. I would take time out and listen to differing subs and if you have the cash rather than opting for deals from motorworld etc with average 2x12" subs and a average amp to power them.

I can recomend if your on a budget Alpine type R subs, always been impressed with what you can throw at them but make sure you are going with a powerful amp too to run them. Dont blow all your money on the sub and get a cheap amp. If you dont have enough save a bit more and it will pay off.

Laguna