ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

nikon d40...any views? £207 after £40 cash bak

Mustang, S13, AX GT
yep...
I have 1 and its my 1st SLR, its relatively easy to use and takes some great shots. Lots of functions to play with (I'm still learning new things everytime lol) and at the price is a bit of a bargain.

Addz

ClioSport Club Member
  Trophy, TVR Tamora
i've been thinking about getting a slr, how easy are they to use? and how much better are they than a normal point and squirt 6megapixel?

Better than yours. C*nt.
Just got one for that with a few toys second hand, it's fantastic. Very chuffed.

Ian

Focus TDCi
i've been thinking about getting a slr, how easy are they to use? and how much better are they than a normal point and squirt 6megapixel?

Was just looking at one of these myself. I'm wondering if it's a worthy upgrade for a Fuji S5700, which is more of a bridge camera but does have a slightly greater pixel count? I don't think the pixels are used to as great effect though.

As far as I can tell the only downsides are that the camera body does not contain the motor, so Auto-Focus will only work if you buy a lens with a built in motor and they're not cheap. There is also a lack of Bracketing, only three Focus Points, lacks a Depth of Field preview screen and the manual isn't great. This is what I've read on review sites while I've been looking anyway, so don't take my word as gospel. Other than that it is an excellent camera, scoring around 9/10 consistently.

The Amazon bundle seems to be lacking a memory card (and the camera doesn't have onboard memory afaik) and camera case too, so bear that in mind.