ClioSport.net

Register a free account today to become a member!
Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

• When you purchase through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Read more here.

Oil change query

ukfirebird

ClioSport Club Member
  clio 182, silver
So I'm new to the clio world, I've only had my 182 about 2weeks now.
Now I'm probably older than most people on here and something I've been doing since the 80s is using a thinner oil over the winter months to avoid engine wear during the colder temperatures, as the thinner oil get around the engine quicker therefore lubing the internals better when the engine cold, so today I used a 0-40 oil and in march/april i will go back to the 5-40 oil.
Does anyone here also do this?

Louis

I Park Like a C**t
ClioSport Club Member
In all seriousness i've never had any problems with the standard genuine elf oil, and my car has done 141k miles.
It's more important to make sure it filled up, as these like to use/leak a little oil.

JamesBryan

ClioSport Club Member
  Titanium 182
It doesn't get cold enough to warrant using 0w-40 over here.

Be better to use 5w-40 or 10w-40 on worn out higher mileage engines to keep the oil pressure up on cold start.

ukfirebird

ClioSport Club Member
  clio 182, silver
I've always done this to my cars, no matter what type classic or modern l, it was something a racer told me about back in the day and it and it has stayed with me, he raced everything from the mini to cossies etc...

DrR

ClioSport Club Member
  VW Golf GTD
Spend an extra 5 minutes warming your engine up before driving if concerned imho

That’s bad advice from what I’ve heard?

Best to get in, start it then drive it right away.

Crayola

ClioSport Club Member
Nah it's best to leave it ticking over for a minute and then drive steady without much load I've found